How to Build Character Through Books!

The Mysterious Howling Audio Book

The Mysterious Howling Audio Book

Author:
Series: Adventure & Fantasy, Fantasy
Genres: Audio Books, Chapter Books, Fiction
Tags: Ages 5-8, Ages 8-12
ASIN: B0039OZG2G

The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book I: The Mysterious Howling Audio Book. Found in the forest of Ashton Place, the Incorrigibles aren't ordinary children.

Buy from Amazon
About the Book

The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book I: The Mysterious Howling Audio Book—the acclaimed and hilarious Victorian mystery series by Maryrose Wood, perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket and Trenton Lee Stewart.

Discovered in the forest of Ashton Place, the Incorrigibles are no ordinary children. Luckily, Miss Penelope Lumley is no ordinary governess. A recent graduate of the Swanburne Academy for Poor Bright Females, Penelope embraces the challenge of her new position. Though she is eager to instruct the children in Latin verbs and the proper use of globes, first she must eliminate their canine tendencies.

But mysteries abound at Ashton Place: Who are these three wild creatures? Why does Old Timothy, the coachman, lurk around every corner? Will Penelope be able to civilize the Incorrigibles in time for Lady Constance’s holiday ball? And what on earth is a schottische?

About the Author:

The writer of The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book I: The Mysterious Howling Audio Book has this to say: Happy howls to Incorrigible readers! It’s been a total joy writing The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place books. Loveawoo to you all! And here’s a pithy wise present for you: get a free weekly saying of Agatha Swanburne in your inbox every Monday. Join my mailing list at www.maryrosewood.com and watch for your first issue.

More news! Something new is getting ready to hatch! Be the first to know; just join the waiting list now at https://www.swanburneacademy.com/waiting-list.

A Few Reviews:

It’s the best beginning since The Bad Beginning (1999) [by Lemony Snicket] and will leave readers howling for the next episode. (Kirkus Reviews (starred review))

“How hearty and delicious…Smartly written with a middle-grade audience in mind, this is both fun and funny and sprinkled with dollops of wisdom (thank you, Agatha Swanburne). How will it all turn out? Appetites whetted.” (Booklist (starred review))

With a Snicketesque affect, Wood’s narrative propels the drama…pervasive humor and unanswered questions should have readers begging for more. (Publishers Weekly (starred review))

Jane Eyre meets Lemony Snicket in this smart, surprising satire. Humorous antics and a climactic cliff-hanger ending will keep children turning pages and clamoring for the next volume, while more sophisticated readers will take away much more. Frequent plate-sized illustrations add wit and period flair. (School Library Journal (starred review))

Every newspaper and website in America is going to tell you that The Mysterious Howling will leave you HOWLING FOR MORE! So I’m not going to say that. But it’s really good. (Adam Rex, author of The True Meaning of Smekday)

From the Back Cover:

Of especially naughty children, it is sometimes said: “They must have been raised by wolves.” The Incorrigible children actually were.

Discovered in the forest of Ashton Place, the Incorrigibles are no ordinary children. Luckily, Miss Penelope Lumley is no ordinary governess. A proud graduate of the Swanburne Academy for Poor Bright Females, she must use all her skills to tame these clever canine children. Latin, poetry, and the use of globes will simply have to wait.

But mysteries abound at Ashton Place: Who are these three wild creatures? Why does Old Timothy, the coachman, lurk around every corner? Will Penelope be able to civilize the Incorrigibles in time for Lady Constance’s holiday ball? And what on earth is that howling in the attic?

Click here for more Adventure & Fantasy Books!

Look Inside
Disclosure of Material Connection: Some of the links in the page above are "affiliate links." This means if you click on the link and purchase the item, I will receive an affiliate commission. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

Subscribe for Reading Inspiration