How to Build Character Through Books!

The Girl Who Thought in Pictures

The Girl Who Thought in Pictures

Author:
Series: Biographical, Picture Book Bios
Genres: Non-Fiction, Picture Books
Tags: Ages 3-5, Ages 5-8, Ages 8-12, Award Winners
ASIN: 1943147612
ISBN: 1943147612

The Girl Who Thought in Pictures tells of young Temple who was diagnosed with autism. No one expected her to talk, let alone become one of the most powerful voices in modern science. Yet, the determined visual thinker did just that.

Buy from Amazon
About the Book

If you’ve ever felt different, if you’ve ever been low, if you don’t quite fit in, there’s a name you should know… Meet Dr. Temple Grandin―one of the world’s quirkiest science heroes!

When young Temple was diagnosed with autism, no one expected her to talk, let alone become one of the most powerful voices in modern science. Yet, the determined visual thinker did just that. Her unique mind allowed her to connect with animals in a special way, helping her invent groundbreaking improvements for farms around the globe.

The Girl Who Thought in Pictures: The Story of Dr. Temple Grandin was the first book in the educational Amazing Scientists series about the inspirational lives of amazing scientists. In addition to the illustrated rhyming tale, you’ll find a complete biography, fun facts, a colorful timeline of events, and even a note from Temple herself!

About the Author:

Julia Finley Mosca is a copywriter and former journalist who spent more than a decade in Hollywood crafting messages for money. After working with such recognizable brands as Entertainment Tonight, Yahoo!, American Greetings, and JibJab, she landed her most rewarding job yet―mom to one ferociously curious and spunky little girl. The Amazing Scientists series marks Mosca’s debut into the magical world of children’s books.

A Few Reviews:

“Rhyming verse and appealing cartoon illustrations capture Grandin’s spirit while providing an exciting, informative look at her remarkable life. Invaluable back matter contains a letter from Temple, fun facts, a time line accompanied by family photographs, and an insightful biography….this is the first volume in a promising new series introducing readers to remarkable women in the sciences.” (School Library Journal)

“The author speaks directly and inclusively…this is an effective, age-appropriate introduction to a remarkable person.” (Kirkus Reviews)

“I’m really digging this new picture book bio series, Amazing Scientists! Lower word count, rhyming text, and sweet illustrations make them accessible to even the youngest reader/listener. More importantly, they profile still living women scientists & doctors who persevered against the odds, pursued their passions, and became leaders in their fields.” (Kathleen Carey, Bookseller at Book House of Stuyvesant Plaza)

“…Refreshing to see a kids’ picture book biography about someone I hadn’t known previously.” (Tegan Tigani, Children’s Book Seller at Queen Anne Bookstore)

“Fans of Andrea Beaty’s Rosie Revere, Engineer (2013), or anyone who has struggled over feeling different, will appreciate this approachable biography of a inspiring scientist.” (Booklist)

Click here for more Picture Book Biographies

NSTA Best STEM Books for K-12 Selection
NSTA Outstanding Science Trade Books Selection
Dolly Gray Children’s Literature Award Recipient
A Mighty Girl Book of the Year

Other Books in "Picture Book Bios"
Look Inside
Disclosure of Material Connection: Some of the links in the page above are "affiliate links." This means if you click on the link and purchase the item, I will receive an affiliate commission. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

Subscribe for Reading Inspiration