How to Build Character Through Books!

Time of Wonder

Time of Wonder

Author:
Series: Character Traits, Curiosity
Genres: Juvenile Fiction, Picture Books
Tags: Ages 3-5, Ages 5-8, Award Winners
ASIN: 0140502017
ISBN: 0140502017

Time of Wonder - The classic story of one summer on a Maine island from the author of One Morning in Maine and Blueberries for Sal.

Buy from Amazon
About the Book

Time of Wonder

Winner of the Caldecott Medal! For fans of One Morning in Maine and Blueberries for Sal, and Make way for Ducklings.

“Out on the islands that poke their rocky shores above the waters of Penobscot Bay, you can watch the time of the world go by, from minute to minute, hour to hour, from day to day . . .”

So begins this classic story of one summer on a Maine island.

The spell of rain, the gulls and a foggy morning, the excitement of sailing, the quiet of the night, the sudden terror of a hurricane, and, in the end, the peace of the island as the family packs up to leave are shown in poetic language and vibrant, evocative pictures.

About the Author:

John Robert McCloskey (September 15, 1914 – June 30, 2003) was an American writer and illustrator of children’s books. He both wrote and illustrated eight picture books and won two Caldecott Medals from the American Library Association recognizing the year’s best-illustrated picture book. Four of those eight books were set in Maine: Blueberries for Sal, One Morning in Maine, Time of Wonder, and Burt Dow, Deep-water Man. His best-known work is another of the picture books, Make Way For Ducklings, set in Boston. In longer works, he both wrote and illustrated Homer Price. Read more about him here.
Bio from Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia.

A Few Reviews:

Being a fan of Make Way for Ducklings, I was in search of other books by Robert McCloskey when I found this gem of a book. It is gentle, lyrical and so beautiful in it’s prose and artwork. My children like to listen to it at bedtime and it lulls them to sleep each time. It is a book that celebrates nature and it’s beauty. It’s hard for me to describe but it touches me deeply, evokes memories of my childhood camping trips in the mountains. —Amazon Reviewer, Teresa NYC

This is high art in the form of a children’s picture book. The combination of the poetry and the beautiful painterly images create a feeling of a both wonder and sadness. For kids this is a great story about having and adventurous summer on an island in Maine. For adults seeing the summer pass for these two little girls also evokes the feeling a larger sense of time passing and how fleeting our time on earth really is. The book won the Caldecott Medal in 1957. —Amazon Reviewer, Old Cape Coder


Find more great picture books here!


 

Look Inside
Disclosure of Material Connection: Some of the links in the page above are "affiliate links." This means if you click on the link and purchase the item, I will receive an affiliate commission. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

Subscribe for Reading Inspiration